top of page

Living Sustainably in 2021

Sometimes, when the world feels totally out of control like it did in 2020, we look for ways to feel like we are making a difference, however small. For me, something that makes me feel more positive about the future, and my place in it, is trying to make as many sustainable lifestyle choices as possible. Luckily, as I head into a new year, I will hopefully buy my first house which will give me a degree of freedom and control over what I buy and use. I’ve already made some changes and I hope to continue to make more and keep moving forward.


The Golden Rule: Use what you have


When you start looking deeper into sustainability, it is very tempting to feel the need to buy all new stuff. This is no surprise as companies are designed to make you feel this way. However, buying all new stuff that you do not need is perhaps the least eco-friendly thing you could do! Start by using all the things you already have before you rush out to buy their eco-friendly cousins. Loads of bath supplies in plastic bottles? Use them up! A whole package of Ziplock bags? Don’t throw them out, use them! Once you have run out of something, then looking for an eco-friendly alternative.


Kitchen

The kitchen is a haven of plastic. It is extremely difficult to find food, cleaning supplies, and storage that doesn’t have plastic involved. Moving forward, there are a few products I have already invested in that should help reduce my plastic usage overall.


Reusable Storage Bags bags are silicone alternatives to single-use plastic ones. I love the convenience of these plastic bags for storing food and other items, but hate the idea of how wasteful they are. Reusable storage bags solve this problem by still being convenient and much better for the environment. Similarly, wax wraps are wonderful replacements for things like cling film and aluminium foil. These can be used over and over again and are made sustainably from fabric and beeswax. Some other changes I plan on making in the new year are switching out single use straws for metal ones, replacing paper napkins and paper towels with fabric ones, and reusing old glass jars and containers as storage.


Another thing I hope to start but have no experience with is composting. As I plan on having a garden of my own, composting will be wonderful for disposing of our food waste in a better way and providing extra food for my plants.



Some of my reusable skincare collection


Bathroom

Bathrooms are also notorious for being riddled with plastic, harmful products. This year, I’m swapping my plastic toothbrush for one made of wheat straw that will biodegrade. But don’t worry, my old toothbrushes don’t go straight to landfill. I use them to clean my jewelry and around the house! I’ve already swapped toothpaste in a plastic tube for some in plastic-free packages. I’ve tried both tablets that you chew and then brush with, as well as a paste that you scoop out of a glass jar.


Facial products are essential for lots of people, especially me as I have struggled with acne for years. My search for products that worked meant I had so many half-used plastic containers. Since then, I’ve swapped my skincare routine to more natural and sustainable products. Currently, I buy lots of my products from this small company in Wales, but I’m sure there are many more small shops like this if you look around. I’ve also found that these natural products have done wonders for my skin texture and for keep it moisturized (something that has always been an issue for me).


Beyond the face, switching from plastic bottles to soap bars is a great way to reduce plastic in the bathroom. I love putting my soap in these “soap-saver” bags so that they lather and are easy to wash with and last longer. Bars of soap don’t just have to be basic, I have a bar that is meant specifically for shaving and there are loads of shampoo and conditioner bars out there that I have yet to try. Speaking of shaving, metal safety razors work much better than the plastic ones (in my experience) and will last for years to come.



My plastic-free toothpaste


Closet

One of the major polluters of landfills comes in the form of discarded clothing. With fast fashion brands able to make and sell clothes at such a low cost, people are buying and throwing away more and more clothing. While it is tempting, one good way to combat this is to invest in quality pieces that will last many years rather than clothes that will go out of style or fall apart in one season. I always try and look into the brands I am buying from in order to purchase clothes that are made from recycled, sustainable fabric, and who use ethical labor and not sweat shops.


Another thing to consider is trying to buy clothes only made from natural fibers. Clothing made from acrylic, polyester, and other manufactured material will put microplastics into the water supply with every wash. Buying clothes made of organic cotton, linen, hemp, wool, and other natural materials helps reduce the number of plastic in our waters.


Even if you already have clothes that are cheaply made, don’t throw them out the second they get one tiny tear. A great thing to do is to mend and repair your clothes so that you can keep wearing them. There are a variety of ways to add patches and fix holes that will make your clothes that much more special and unique. I recently learned Sashiko which is a Japanese method of stitching that repairs textiles. Alongside this, make sure that you are taking care of the clothes that you have. Be sure to regularly clean and water-proof (if needed) things like shoes, coats, bags, and more so that they last as long as possible.




General


Being sustainable doesn’t have to come at a high price tag, in fact, one of the most sustainable things you can do is also one that will save you a lot of money--shopping secondhand. A great sustainable option, whether it be clothes or otherwise, is to shop secondhand when possible. You can find amazing quality objects at very low prices. This includes clothing, but often secondhand shops have things like picture frames, vases, kitchen tools, and furniture at super low prices. With a little bit of paint, you can usually make these secondhand finds into something that looks straight out of an expensive store.


Around nine months ago, I chose to change my diet to be plant-based. One of my main reasons for doing so is that it is more sustainable for the planet (fewer CO2 emissions, less water used). Going plant-based doesn’t have to be a complete change all at once. Even dedicating one meal per week or one meal per day to be totally meat-free can make an impact. For more about my experience changing to vegetarian, read my blog about it here.


Shopping small and local might not seem inherently eco-friendly, but it almost always is better than ordering from huge retailers. Small business owners see the impact of your purchase first hand and care about the community they are in. Many are dedicated to using recycled materials and packaging with low or zero plastic. Plus, your money going to them instead of someone who is already a billionaire is far more sustainable for small businesses everywhere.


Regardless of if you choose to change something small or make a big lifestyle change, living consciously and sustainably is one of the best ways to make the most of a new year--and keep our planet healthy for many years to come.

40 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page